Don’t ya wanna balloon?

Posted: January 1, 2012 in Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

So I’ve effectively been a horror nut today.  Muscles are still sore and throat is as well thanks to the card game Friday night.  Couldn’t actually find it in me to workout today (I think it’s the first day I’ve missed.  =[ ) so I proceeded to do a whole lot of nothing.

I rolled over, grabbed Bag of Bones off of the chair I was using for a bedside table and finished the last hundred pages.  Then I took a piss, took some pills and then finished up Dead Space 1 which I was up late playing.  Only then did I get up and shower and dress.

Unable to function anymore without something to read, I chose the collection of short stories off my shelf I haven’t gotten to.  Night Shift by Stephen King contains one of my favorite quotes by the man himself in the introduction.

“The thing under my bed waiting to grab my ankle isn’t real. I know that, and I also know that if I’m careful to keep my foot under the covers, it will never be able to grab my ankle.”

I know I love horror movies, (I picked up my two favorite King adaptations to film, Pet Semetary and It today), Horror fiction, and horror games.  Halloween is my favorite time of year and I squirm with pleasure when I hear an audience member scream during a trip to the Regal.

Maybe it isn’t the genre for me to write though.  Most of my work has been fiction with paranormal undertones, however it’s not what you call “Horror” I don’t think.  You write what comes to you, the things that stick in your head.  We call them hobbies when they’re actually “obsessions” as King says.  He makes a good point in saying that we don’t really have a choice in what we write well.  We can’t choose these things.  But he horror, the screams, the sweat makes me feel much better.  They help me to work as much as That City.

Write On, Reader.

Leave a Reply

