Scientific? Logical?

Posted: December 19, 2011 in Friends
Tags: , , , , ,

“The Scientist” Cover by Willy Nelson.

A friend of mine once said very long ago that the song “The Scientist” by Coldplay reminded her of me.  I wonder how true that is.  I guess I’m logical, but my heart always beats harder than my mind can process.  I’m not really as much of a cold bastard as some of my old friends would say I am.  I’m supposedly selfish and self-serving. But I don’t know if I am or not.  I try to think of myself as a good guy.  But every chance I get to advance myself is met with hostility, never encouragement by these people.

I guess that means I’m moving out.  We were so close in High School, and only one of them seems to care anymore.  It’s all about the needs of them, and never mine.  This would be a selfish thing to say if it weren’t for the fact I’ve always done what they asked and helped them when they needed it.  It seems we’ve broken away save for the Exception.  He’s trying to advance too.  Trying to make something of himself.  He’s my boy, as I kept saying the other night.  I’m tired of being made to feel guilty for going my own way.

Maybe it’s not my City of Ice that’s sick.  Maybe it’s the city’s occupants.  Maybe I need to change the scenery myself, and shy away.  Maybe I need to get out of here and salvage what’s left of my own little family. Those who are worth having.  Guessing at numbers and figures here, aren’t I?  Time to write.  Goodnight, whoever you are.

Comments
  1. Writer Jobs says:

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

Leave a Reply

